This Is Your Song | St. Simons Island Wedding Officiant

It was a beautiful Independence Day weekend and a gorgeous setting along the banks of the Village Creek at Halyard’s River house at 1pm on July 3, 2011.  Tommy Victor Talley, Jr. and Teresa Doucette Daniels said their vows before a small group of close friends and relatives in a romantic and intimate ceremony on St Simons Island, Georgia.

 

The sun was shining hot, but the cool breezes coming in off the creek made the day absolutely perfect for a wedding!   The gazebo and white wedding chairs were decorated with flowing white tulle tied with red satin ribbon and red roses.  The banister leading from the upstairs of the River house also held white tulle and red roses at each column.

The guests were all seated and the music began.  Tommy, the groom, and his best man, Scott, and son John followed me (the officiant) to the gazebo to stand in our designated spots.   Tommy, his best man, and groomsman were cooling it, wearing white cabana shirts and knaki shorts.   Their boutonnieres were red roses with a bit of babies breath. 

The mothers were seated inside the gazebo and then the bridesmaids processed.  The 2 bridesmaids wore beautiful red satin dresses and carried red rose bouquets.

As Teresa approached the staircase, all eyes were upon her as she descended the stairs and was met at the bottom by her father, Mr. Doucette.  She held his arm as they both proceeded to the Gazebo and up the steps to meet her handsome Groom.

Teresa’s wedding gown was an ivory chiffon empire waist floor length gown with a ruched bodice and sequined straps and belting.  She carried a beautiful bouquet of red roses and wore a red ruby necklace and earings.  Her long blonde hair was pulled up on the sides with long flowing curls encircling her face and down her back.  She was stunning!  When Tommy first laid eyes on her, he said, “Oh my gosh!”

The guests were seated and the ceremony began.  Teresa was given in marriage by her father and he gave her a kiss on the cheek before being seated.

Tommy and Teresa stood together and repeated their loving, heartfelt vows and exchanged rings.  Somebody….not sure who, forgot Tommy’s ring!  After giggles and grins, Scott, the best man, volunteered his wedding band as a substitute until after the ceremony and the ‘real’ wedding band could be retrieved and placed on Tommy’s finger. 

After the rings were exchanged, the blended families poured sand into a single vase as a symbol of the uniting of the families into one.  This sand ceremony represents their lives to this moment as individual and unique.  Once the sand is poured and combined together, their lives are also joined together as one.

 

As an expression that Tommy and Teresa’s hearts are joined together in love, they continued to face each other and hold hands, so that they could feel the gift that they are to each other.

After the prayer, “Your Song” by Elton John was played and both Tommy and Teresa were obviously moved by this special song in their hearts.  During this song, I felt the presence of a loving spirit in the midst and was overwhelmed a bit.  I whispered to them how happy I was that they had found each other.  They have surely been blessed.

 

I happily pronounced them husband and wife forever!  Tommy kissed his beautiful bride and sealed it with a kiss!  It was truly magical!

 

It’s a little bit funny, this feeling inside.
I’m not one of those who can easily hide.
I don’t have much money, but boy if I did,
I’d buy a big house where we both could live.
 
If I was a sculptor, but then again, no,
Or a man who makes potions in a travelling show,
I know it’s not much, but it’s the best I can do.
My gift is my song and this one’s for you.
 
And you can tell everybody this is your song.
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done,
I hope you don’t mind,
I hope you don’t mind, that I put down in words,
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world.
 
I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss.
Well a few of the verses well they’ve got me quite cross.
But the sun’s been quite kind while I wrote this song.
It’s for people like you that keep it turned on.
 
So excuse me forgetting, but these things I do.
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue.
Anyway, the thing is, what I really mean,
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen.

For more information, please visit my website at http://www.stsimonselopements.com

Thank you to:

Heather Nicholson Marshall – Day Of Planner

Edward of St. Simons – Flowers

Halyard’s River house at Village Creek Landing

Leave a Reply

