We’re Not Cold, We’re in Love

My first elopement of the year was a couple that was here on St. Simons Island for the weekend and decided to get married.  I love these elopements!

 

I received a phone call from the groom about 4 pm on Saturday afternoon asking if I was available today to officiate a wedding.  I said yes.  He said they were already planning to marry on November 11, 2017 in a larger ceremony on Jekyll Island, but they wanted to go ahead and tie the knot right now while they were here.  They had their rings, their marriage license and wanted to meet me at Driftwood Beach, if possible.  Well, of course!

 

So at 5:30pm, on Saturday, January 7, 2017, we met up and walked the path together down to the beach.  It was the coldest day we have had in quite a while on Jekyll Island, with temperatures in the 30’s and wind gusts at 15 mph.  Brrrrrr.  We braved the chilliness and found the exact spot they wanted to say their vows.

 

As as I began the ceremony, I noticed we were all 3 standing there shivering and hovering together.  We continued the ceremony and they repeated their vows with chattering teeth and exchanged rings with ice cold hands.  And it was wonderful.  Not a soul anywhere on the beach…just us.  I pronounced them husband and wife and they kissed the first kiss of their marriage.

 

Two people in love and finally married.  I love that!

 

They are still planning their big wedding and reception for November 2017.  Don’t want to disappoint the friends and family, but there is nothing quite like the excitement and secrecy of eloping.  No one will be the wiser and the wedding will go on as planned.

 

img_3639

 

For information on planning your own wedding or elopement, contact me, Carla Pryor, at my website http://www.stsimonselopements.com or email at stsimonselopements@yahoo.com or phone 912-506-0377.

Leave a Reply

